CIFI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIFI Training

TL;DR
  • CIFI is a Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator credential from IASIU, described as a test of knowledge and experience, not a course of study.
  • The reference curriculum is AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense, courses 510 through 516, which maps to seven domains.
  • Eligibility requires 100 points, including at least 30 SIU points earned at ten per year.
  • Current application fees are USD $250 for members and USD $450 for nonmembers; the older $200/$400 figures are historical.

CIFI Training: How to Prepare for the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator Exam

Key Takeaways

  • CIFI is a Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator credential from IASIU, described as a test of knowledge and experience, not a course of study.
  • The reference curriculum is AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense, courses 510 through 516, which maps to seven domains.
  • Eligibility requires 100 points, including at least 30 SIU points earned at ten per year.
  • Current application fees are USD $250 for members and USD $450 for nonmembers; the older $200/$400 figures are historical.
  • Official domain weights are unverified, so train evenly across all seven areas rather than betting on one.

What "CIFI Training" Actually Means

Searching for CIFI training can be confusing, because the credential does not work like a classroom program with a fixed syllabus and a completion certificate. IASIU describes the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator designation as a test of knowledge and experience rather than a course of study. In practice, that means your training is a blend of three things: the years you have spent working special investigation cases, the education you can document, and the focused preparation you do against the reference materials the exam draws from.

That distinction matters for how you plan. Nobody can hand you a mandatory training-hour requirement, because none has been verified. There is no universal degree requirement either. What exists is a points-based eligibility structure and an examination built, in part, from published reference material. If you want a broader orientation first, our overview What Is CIFI Certification? covers the credential's purpose, and CIFI Requirements 2026 goes deeper on qualifying.

Identity check: In this article, CIFI means exactly the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator credential administered by IASIU. Other credentials share the same acronym, but their exams, fees, and domains are entirely separate. If a study resource mentions cybersecurity, forensic accounting, or anything unrelated to claims fraud, it is not training for this exam.

The AEI Reference Curriculum: Courses 510 through 516

The current IASIU CIFI page explicitly identifies the AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense series among the materials used to develop the examination. That series is organized as seven courses, numbered 510 through 516, and each one maps neatly to a training domain:

DomainAEI CourseTraining Focus
Domain 1510 Recognizing FraudContract basics, fraud law, fraud types, red flags
Domain 2511 Special InvestigationHandling the SIU file, techniques, proactive limits, reporting
Domain 3512 Proving FraudEvidence, hearsay, discovery, privilege, constitutional issues
Domain 4513 Handling Suspicious Claims: The Policy and Its RequirementsPolicy as contract, insurer duties, conditions, remedies
Domain 5514 Avoiding Bad Faith and Civil Liability in Handling Suspicious ClaimsBad faith causes of action, exposure, defenses
Domain 6515 Advanced Legal Issues in Fraud Investigation and DefenseDefamation, using information, reasonable investigations
Domain 7516 Auto Insurance FraudTheft, fires, physical damage, accidents and injuries

Two cautions keep your preparation honest. First, these are unweighted reference-curriculum categories, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint. No highest-weighted domain has been established, and no current numbered exam version or weighted-domain blueprint is verified. Second, AEI course completion is not asserted to be mandatory for sitting the exam. The courses are a strong preparation resource, not a gate. For a domain-level walkthrough, see CIFI Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

Don't substitute look-alike programs: AEI also publishes other claims-fraud material, including a fundamentals course and designation tracks of its own. Those are different products with different requirements. The reference for the IASIU CIFI exam is specifically the Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense series, courses 510 through 516.

Course-by-Course Training Priorities

The published course index gives you the clearest picture of what the reference material covers. Use the subtopics below as a checklist when you build your own training plan.

Domain 1 - 510 Recognizing Fraud

This is the foundation. Candidates must connect contract principles to fraud law and learn to spot early indicators.

  • Introduction to claims fraud concepts
  • The insurance contract and insurance fraud law
  • Types of fraud
  • Recognizing fraud potential

Domain 2 - 511 Special Investigation

The operational heart of an SIU role: how a special investigation is run properly and where proactive work must stop.

  • Good practices in handling the special investigation
  • Special investigation techniques
  • Proactive investigation and its limits
  • Reporting

Domain 3 - 512 Proving Fraud

Suspicion is not proof. This domain covers the evidentiary and constitutional rules that determine whether your findings hold up.

  • Introduction
  • Hearsay
  • Discovery and privilege
  • Constitutional and criminal law issues

Note: the current publisher index labels this course's visible entries 1, 2, 3 and 6. Entries 4 and 5 are not published there, so do not assume content for them from older catalogs.

Domain 4 - 513 The Policy and Its Requirements

Fraud handling always sits on top of the policy. Know what the contract obligates each side to do.

  • The policy as contract
  • Insurer's duties
  • Policy conditions
  • Remedies

Domain 5 - 514 Avoiding Bad Faith and Civil Liability

Aggressive fraud work creates exposure. This domain teaches where investigators and carriers go wrong.

  • The cause of action for bad faith
  • Exposure
  • Other theories of liability
  • Good faith and other defenses

Domain 6 - 515 Advanced Legal Issues

How information is handled determines whether a fraud investigation creates liability of its own.

  • Managing information to avoid defamation
  • Using information
  • Reasonable and effective special investigations

Domain 7 - 516 Auto Insurance Fraud

Auto is the most concrete, scenario-driven domain, so expect applied recognition of fact patterns.

  • Introduction to auto insurance fraud
  • Auto theft
  • Auto fires
  • Auto physical damage fraud
  • Auto accidents and bodily injuries

Notice how the series moves from recognition (510) to investigation (511) to proof (512), then to the legal guardrails around the whole process (513 through 515). Studying in that arc helps you see the connections rather than memorizing seven isolated topics. Our CIFI Study Guide 2026 builds on this structure with a full preparation approach.

Training and Eligibility: How Education Earns Points

Training in the CIFI context is not only about exam content. It also feeds your eligibility. The credential uses a points system: you need 100 points, and at least 30 of them must be SIU points, earned at ten per year of special investigation experience. Qualifying education and other experience can contribute additional points, but the same activity cannot be counted twice.

This has a practical consequence for how you document your training:

  • Keep records of formal education and coursework. Because qualifying education can add points, certificates and transcripts are worth organizing before you apply.
  • Separate SIU years from other experience. Ten points per SIU year means the 30-point minimum requires meaningful time in a special investigation role.
  • Avoid double counting. If a role and a course overlap, claim the value once.
  • Take the declarations seriously. Ethics, truthful application, and the published application declarations apply. Overstating experience is a disqualifying mistake for an anti-fraud credential.

Key Takeaway

Treat your application as your first piece of fraud-investigation work: accurate, documented, and free of embellishment. Build a simple points ledger before applying so you know exactly where your 100 points come from.

If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential, Is the CIFI Certification Worth It? and CIFI Jobs discuss the career side, including the kinds of employers where special investigation work is done.

Exam Mechanics and Fee Planning

Good training includes knowing what exam day looks like, and here honesty about what is and isn't verified is important.

What is verified

  • The exam is administered through IASIU. IASIU proctor arrangements include an online camera-and-microphone route; no external national test vendor has been verified.
  • Current application fees are USD $250 for members and USD $450 for nonmembers. These supersede the $200/$400 values that appeared in the 2023 application, which are now historical.

What is not verified

  • The current item count, scored/unscored split, time limit, numerical passing score, and item-format specification.
  • Whether the exam is open-book, calculator-permitted, or adaptive.
  • The pass rate, which is not publicly disclosed.

One historical official account describes 50 multiple-choice questions. That is useful context for how to practice, but it is not a verified current specification, so do not build a pacing plan around it as if it were fact. Confirm all format details directly with IASIU when you apply. For more on this uncertainty, read CIFI Passing Score 2026 and CIFI Pass Rate 2026, and for budgeting, CIFI Certification Cost 2026. Scheduling details are covered in CIFI Exam Dates 2026.

ItemStatus
Application fee (member)USD $250 (current)
Application fee (nonmember)USD $450 (current)
Older fee values ($200/$400)Historical only
Question count, time limit, passing scoreUnverified
Domain weightsUnverified
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Sequencing Your Training Across Seven Domains

Because no domain is established as the heaviest, a balanced plan is the safest approach. The one planning template worth using here follows the logic of the curriculum itself: learn the vocabulary and law first, then the investigation process, then the proof and liability layers, and finish with the scenario-heavy auto material while the legal framework is fresh.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations: 510 and 513

  • Insurance contract basics and fraud law
  • Fraud types and recognition indicators
  • Policy conditions, insurer duties, and remedies
Weeks 3-4

Process and Proof: 511 and 512

  • SIU handling practices, techniques, and reporting
  • Hearsay, discovery, privilege, and constitutional issues
  • Limits of proactive investigation
Weeks 5-6

Liability Layer: 514 and 515

  • Bad faith causes of action and defenses
  • Defamation risk and information handling
  • What makes an investigation reasonable and effective
Week 7

Auto Fraud and Review: 516

  • Theft, fires, physical damage, accidents, and bodily injury patterns
  • Cross-domain practice questions
  • Gap review against your weakest course

Adjust the pace to your own experience. A seasoned SIU investigator may move quickly through 511 and 516 but need more time on the legal courses (512 through 515), while a claims professional new to fraud work may need the reverse. Honest difficulty expectations are discussed in How Hard Is the CIFI Exam?, and a condensed review aid is available in the CIFI Cheat Sheet 2026.

Whatever schedule you choose, pair it with realistic question practice. Our CIFI practice tests let you drill scenario-style items across all seven areas, and you can check your readiness at CIFI Exam Prep before committing to a sitting.

Training After Certification: Renewal and CEUs

Training does not end when you pass. The CIFI renews on a three-year cycle and requires 60 CEUs, with at least ten earned annually and an ethics credit included. The renewal fee is USD $100 for members and USD $200 for nonmembers.

The annual minimum is the detail people miss. Spreading ten-plus CEUs across each year is far easier than scrambling for sixty in the final months. Because legal developments around bad faith, defamation, and evidence rules keep evolving, continuing education in exactly the areas covered by courses 512 through 515 doubles as practical job training. For salary context on why many investigators keep the credential active, see CIFI Salary Guide 2026.

Renewal planning tip: Log each CEU the day you earn it, note which year it counts toward, and flag your ethics credit early. A simple spreadsheet prevents the most common renewal headache.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I have to complete the AEI courses to sit for the CIFI exam?

No. AEI course completion is not asserted to be mandatory. IASIU describes CIFI as a test of knowledge and experience rather than a course of study. However, the AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense series (courses 510 through 516) is among the materials used to develop the exam, making it a valuable preparation reference.

Is there a required number of training hours or a degree?

No universal degree or training-hour requirement has been verified. Eligibility instead rests on a points system: 100 points total, including at least 30 SIU points at ten per year, with qualifying education and other experience able to add points without double counting.

Which CIFI domain should I spend the most time on?

Official domain weights are unverified, and no highest-weighted topic is established, so there is no evidence-based answer. Spread your effort across all seven areas, then shift extra time to whichever course your practice results show is weakest.

How much does CIFI cost, and has the fee changed?

Current application fees are USD $250 for IASIU members and USD $450 for nonmembers. These supersede the older $200/$400 figures from the 2023 application. Renewal every three years costs USD $100 for members and USD $200 for nonmembers.

Can I take the exam remotely?

IASIU proctor arrangements include an online camera-and-microphone route. No external national test vendor has been verified, so confirm current scheduling and technical requirements with IASIU when you apply.

Ready to pass your CIFI exam?

Put this into practice with free CIFI questions across every exam domain.