CIFI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIFI Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • IASIU does not publicly disclose a CIFI pass rate, so any specific percentage you see is unverified.
  • Eligibility requires 100 points, including at least 30 SIU points earned at ten per year.
  • Current application fees are USD $250 for IASIU members and USD $450 for nonmembers.
  • IASIU describes CIFI as a test of knowledge and experience, not a course of study.

Why There Is No Published CIFI Pass Rate

If you searched for the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator pass rate hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: the pass rate is not publicly disclosed by the International Association of Special Investigation Units (IASIU), the body that administers the credential. There is no annual report, candidate statistics page, or published first-attempt versus retake breakdown that you can cite.

That matters because plenty of certification sites fill the gap with confident-sounding figures. For this credential, those numbers have no verifiable source. This article takes a different approach: it lays out what the public record actually supports, explains what is and is not knowable, and shows you how to judge your own readiness without leaning on a statistic that does not exist.

A note on the acronym: "CIFI" is shared by several unrelated credentials. This article covers only the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator credential from IASIU. Pass-rate figures, fees, or exam formats attached to any other credential using the same letters do not apply here. For background on the name itself, see our explainer on what CIFI stands for.

What the Public Record Does Confirm

While the pass rate is undisclosed, several concrete facts about the CIFI process are verifiable from the IASIU CIFI page and related reference material reviewed on September 29, 2026. Equally important, a number of exam-mechanics details remain unverified, and it is better to say so than to guess.

ItemStatus
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Application feeUSD $250 member / USD $450 nonmember (supersedes older $200/$400)
Eligibility threshold100 points, including at least 30 SIU points at ten per year
ProctoringIASIU arrangements include an online camera-and-microphone route
Current item countUnverified (a historical account describes 50 multiple-choice questions)
Time limitUnverified
Numerical passing scoreUnverified
Weighted domain blueprintNot verified; highest-weighted domain unknown
RenewalThree years; 60 CEUs, at least ten annually, with an ethics credit; USD $100 member / USD $200 nonmember

Notice how much of the "how hard is it to pass" picture rests on unverified specifics. Without a published item count, time limit, or cut score, you cannot reverse-engineer a pass rate even roughly. If you want to dig into what is and is not known about scoring, our page on the CIFI passing score tracks those open questions.

How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You See Online

When a site states a precise CIFI pass percentage, ask four questions before you let it shape your preparation:

  1. Who published the number? A figure should trace to IASIU or a documented survey. A prep vendor repeating another vendor's number is not a source.
  2. Which credential is it describing? Because the acronym is shared, statistics are easily copied from the wrong certification.
  3. What is the denominator? Pass rates can mean first-time takers, all attempts, or only candidates who completed a particular course. IASIU has published none of these.
  4. Is it dated? Even a legitimate historical figure would be stale if the exam has been revised.
Treat the absence as information: A credential that screens candidates on documented experience before they ever sit the exam may see a self-selected, already-prepared test-taker pool. Even if a number were published, it would say more about who qualifies to apply than about how punishing the questions are.

The Real Filter: Qualifying Before You Sit

For many candidates, the most meaningful barrier is not the exam itself but eligibility. The application is point-based. You need 100 points in total, and at least 30 of those must be SIU points, earned at ten points per year of special investigation unit experience. In practical terms, the SIU component reflects roughly three years of qualifying SIU work.

The remaining points can come from qualifying education and other relevant experience, with the rule that the same credit cannot be counted twice. No universal degree requirement or fixed training-hour requirement has been verified, and no fixed number of references has been confirmed. What does apply is the ethics framework: you must apply truthfully and comply with the published application declarations.

This design explains why IASIU frames CIFI as a test of knowledge and experience rather than a course of study. You are not enrolling in a program and graduating; you are demonstrating that your field experience and legal-and-investigative knowledge meet a professional standard. For the full eligibility walkthrough, see our guide to CIFI requirements.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Struggle

Because official domain weights are not verified, nobody can honestly tell you which area carries the most exam points. What we can do is identify which topics tend to demand the most from an investigator who works primarily on the investigative side and less on the legal side. The seven content areas map to the AEI reference courses, and several of them are legal in nature rather than purely investigative.

Domain 3: 512 Proving Fraud

This is where investigative instinct meets rules of evidence and procedure. Practitioners who have lived in claim files but not in litigation often find this area the least intuitive.

  • Hearsay and its exceptions
  • Discovery and privilege
  • Constitutional and criminal law issues that touch insurance investigations

Domain 5: 514 Avoiding Bad Faith and Civil Liability in Handling Suspicious Claims

Experienced SIU professionals know suspicious claims must be pursued, but this domain tests the boundaries of how aggressively and by what process.

  • The cause of action for bad faith and the exposure it creates
  • Other liability theories
  • Good faith and other defenses

Domain 6: 515 Advanced Legal Issues in Fraud Investigation and Defense

Information handling is a recurring theme: what you collect, how you use it, and how you avoid defamation exposure.

  • Managing information to avoid defamation
  • Using information appropriately
  • Conducting reasonable and effective special investigations

None of this means these domains are weighted more heavily; only that legal reasoning is a common gap for field-experienced candidates. See our complete guide to the seven CIFI domains for a domain-by-domain breakdown, and our difficulty guide for a fuller discussion of what makes the exam demanding.

The AEI 510-516 Reference Curriculum

The current IASIU CIFI page identifies AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense among the materials used to develop the examination. It counts seven courses, numbered 510 through 516. These are best understood as an unweighted reference curriculum, not an official blueprint, and completing the AEI courses is not asserted to be mandatory for sitting the exam.

Here are the course-index subtopics as currently published:

CoursePublished subtopics
510 Recognizing FraudIntroduction; The Insurance Contract and Insurance Fraud Law; Types of Fraud; Recognizing Fraud Potential
511 Special InvestigationGood Practices in Handling the Special Investigation; Special Investigation Techniques; Proactive Investigation and Its Limits; Reporting
512 Proving FraudIntroduction; Hearsay; Discovery and Privilege; Constitutional and Criminal Law Issues
513 Handling Suspicious Claims: The Policy and Its RequirementsThe Policy as Contract; Insurer's Duties; Policy Conditions; Remedies
514 Avoiding Bad Faith and Civil LiabilityThe Cause of Action for Bad Faith; Exposure; Other Theories; Good Faith and Other Defenses
515 Advanced Legal IssuesManaging Information to Avoid Defamation; Using Information; Reasonable and Effective Special Investigations
516 Auto Insurance FraudIntroduction to Auto Insurance Fraud; Auto Theft; Auto Fires; Auto Physical Damage Fraud; Auto Accidents and Bodily Injuries
A quirk worth knowing: The publisher's current index for course 512 labels its visible entries 1, 2, 3 and 6. Entries 4 and 5 are not published there. Do not assume what those missing entries contained, and do not rely on older catalog listings to fill the gap.

One caution: AEI also publishes other programs, such as Claims Fraud Fundamentals, and has its own designation requirements. Those are separate from the IASIU CIFI examination and should not be confused with it.

A Readiness Plan Built Around the Seven Domains

With no pass rate to benchmark against, the most reliable gauge of readiness is your own performance across the seven areas. Because the weights are unknown, avoid betting on one domain; plan for balanced coverage, front-loading the areas where you have the least hands-on exposure. A pragmatic eight-week structure might look like this:

Weeks 1-2

Foundations: Domains 1 and 2

  • Review fraud types, red-flag recognition, and the insurance contract and fraud law basics from 510
  • Work through 511 investigation practice, proactive limits, and reporting
Weeks 3-4

Legal Proof: Domains 3 and 4

  • Spend extra time on hearsay, discovery, privilege, and constitutional issues in 512
  • Cover policy-as-contract, insurer duties, conditions, and remedies in 513
Weeks 5-6

Liability and Advanced Issues: Domains 5 and 6

  • Study bad faith exposure, other theories, and defenses in 514
  • Review defamation avoidance and information use in 515
Weeks 7-8

Auto Fraud and Integration: Domain 7

  • Cover auto theft, fires, physical damage fraud, and accident or bodily injury schemes in 516
  • Run mixed-domain practice and revisit your weakest legal topics

This sequencing puts the legal domains in the middle of your schedule, when you have built investigative context but still have time to repeat difficult material. For a deeper approach to sequencing, see our CIFI study guide, and for last-week review, the CIFI cheat sheet. You can also test yourself on the CIFI practice test site to see which domains need more time.

Key Takeaway

Because the item count, time limit, and cut score are not verified, do not train for a specific format. Train for breadth across all seven domains, with the most repetition on the legal topics where field experience alone will not carry you.

What an Attempt Costs

Since there is no pass-rate data to estimate your odds, it helps to understand the financial stakes of each attempt. The current CIFI application fee is USD $250 for IASIU members and USD $450 for nonmembers. Older figures of $200 and $400 appear in the 2023 application and are historical only. The $200 difference makes membership worth a look if you are applying anyway.

After certification, maintenance runs on a three-year cycle: 60 CEUs, with at least ten earned each year and an ethics credit, plus a renewal fee of USD $100 for members or USD $200 for nonmembers. For the complete picture, see our CIFI certification cost breakdown. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis and salary guide take that question up directly.

As for logistics, IASIU's proctor arrangements include an online camera-and-microphone route, though no external national testing vendor has been verified. For scheduling specifics and deadlines, check our page on CIFI exam dates and confirm current details directly with IASIU. Details such as open-book rules, calculator policy, and adaptive testing are unverified, so confirm them before test day rather than assuming.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CIFI pass rate?

IASIU does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator exam. Any specific percentage you encounter online is unverified and should not guide your preparation.

Is the CIFI exam hard to pass?

Without published statistics or a verified cut score, difficulty cannot be quantified. The exam tests knowledge and experience across seven areas, and legal topics such as hearsay, bad faith, and defamation tend to challenge field-focused candidates most.

How many questions are on the CIFI exam?

The current item count is unverified. A historical official account describes 50 multiple-choice questions, but that is not confirmed as the present specification, so check with IASIU before you test.

Do I have to complete the AEI courses to take the CIFI exam?

No such requirement is asserted. IASIU describes CIFI as a test of knowledge and experience rather than a course of study, though AEI's courses 510 through 516 are identified among the materials used to develop the exam.

What do I need to qualify to sit for the exam?

You need 100 application points, including at least 30 SIU points earned at ten per year. Qualifying education and other experience can add points without double counting, and you must apply truthfully under the published declarations.

The bottom line: the CIFI pass rate is a number nobody outside IASIU can honestly give you. Spend your effort on what you can control, which is documenting your experience, understanding the seven domains, and building real fluency in the legal reasoning that investigative work depends on. For the bigger picture of the credential, start with our overview of what CIFI certification is.

Ready to pass your CIFI exam?

Put this into practice with free CIFI questions across every exam domain.