- What Is and Isn't Published About the CIFI Passing Score
- Why You Won't Find a Cut Score on the IASIU Page
- What "Passing" Really Requires: Points, Knowledge, and Experience
- The Seven-Course Reference Curriculum Behind the Exam
- Format, Length, and Rules: What Remains Unverified
- Preparing for an Unpublished Cut Score, Domain by Domain
- Fees, Registration Mechanics, and Renewal
- How to Verify Anything You Read About This Exam
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No verified numerical passing score exists for the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator exam; treat any specific cut score you see online with suspicion.
- IASIU describes the CIFI as a test of knowledge and experience, not a course of study.
- Item count, time limit, and scored/unscored split are unverified; a historical account of 50 multiple-choice questions is not a current specification.
- Application fees are currently USD $250 for IASIU members and USD $450 for nonmembers, replacing older $200/$400 figures.
What Is and Isn't Published About the CIFI Passing Score
If you searched for the passing score on the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator exam hoping for a clean figure like "70%" or "a scaled 500," here is the honest answer: no current, verified numerical passing score is publicly established for the CIFI. The International Association of Special Investigation Units (IASIU), which administers the credential, does not publish a cut score that we can verify, and neither the item count, the time limit, nor the scored/unscored split is confirmed for the current exam.
That may feel unsatisfying, but it is more useful than the alternative. Many pages about "CIFI" recycle numbers borrowed from entirely different credentials that happen to share the same four letters. This article is about the insurance fraud credential only, and it will not hand you a made-up number. Instead, it explains what is known, what is not, and how to prepare rigorously anyway. For a broader view of the exam's difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CIFI exam is.
Why You Won't Find a Cut Score on the IASIU Page
Several reasons plausibly explain the absence of a published cut score, though IASIU has not spelled them out, so treat the following as context rather than confirmed policy:
- The credential is positioned as a knowledge-and-experience validation. IASIU's own framing emphasizes that the CIFI is not a course of study. A cut score is less central when the credential rests on both an eligibility-point system and an examination.
- The pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Without published outcome data, there is no verified statistical basis for inferring a threshold. You can read what the available evidence does and doesn't show in our CIFI pass rate analysis.
- Current format specifications are unverified. The only item-count description available is historical, and it should not be treated as a current spec.
The practical consequence: you cannot back-calculate "how many questions can I miss." Your preparation target should be broad mastery of the source material, not minimum-score arithmetic.
What "Passing" Really Requires: Points, Knowledge, and Experience
For this credential, "passing" is only half the story. Before you ever sit for the exam, you must qualify. The eligibility structure is points-based:
- You need 100 total points.
- At least 30 of those points must be SIU points, earned at ten points per year of special investigation unit experience.
- Qualifying education and other experience can add points, but the same activity cannot be counted twice.
No universal degree requirement, no fixed training-hour requirement, and no fixed reference count has been verified. The application is governed by ethics expectations, truthful application, and the published application declarations. A misstatement on your application is a bigger risk to the credential than a few missed exam questions. Our detailed breakdown lives in the CIFI requirements guide.
Key Takeaway
Think of the CIFI as a two-gate process: first prove your 100 points (including 30 SIU points), then demonstrate knowledge on the exam. Because the exam is described as testing knowledge and experience, candidates with real SIU casework tend to find the scenario-driven material more intuitive than pure book learners, though no pass-rate data confirms this.
The Seven-Course Reference Curriculum Behind the Exam
The single most concrete piece of preparation guidance available is this: IASIU's current CIFI page explicitly identifies AEI's Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense among the materials used to develop the examination. That program comprises seven courses, numbered 510 through 516. These are unweighted reference-curriculum categories, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, and completing the AEI courses is not asserted to be mandatory for the exam. Still, they are the best map available. For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our CIFI exam domains guide.
| Domain | AEI Course | Published Index Topics |
|---|---|---|
| Domain 1: Recognizing Fraud | 510 | Introduction; The Insurance Contract and Insurance Fraud Law; Types of Fraud; Recognizing Fraud Potential |
| Domain 2: Special Investigation | 511 | Good Practices in Handling the Special Investigation; Special Investigation Techniques; Proactive Investigation and Its Limits; Reporting |
| Domain 3: Proving Fraud | 512 | Introduction; Hearsay; Discovery and Privilege; Constitutional and Criminal Law Issues |
| Domain 4: Handling Suspicious Claims: The Policy and Its Requirements | 513 | The Policy as Contract; Insurer's Duties; Policy Conditions; Remedies |
| Domain 5: Avoiding Bad Faith and Civil Liability in Handling Suspicious Claims | 514 | The Cause of Action for Bad Faith; Exposure; Other Theories; Good Faith and Other Defenses |
| Domain 6: Advanced Legal Issues in Fraud Investigation and Defense | 515 | Managing Information to Avoid Defamation; Using Information; Reasonable and Effective Special Investigations |
| Domain 7: Auto Insurance Fraud | 516 | Introduction to Auto Insurance Fraud; Auto Theft; Auto Fires; Auto Physical Damage Fraud; Auto Accidents and Bodily Injuries |
Equally important is what not to study. AEI's Claims Fraud Fundamentals program, its four course-index headings, and the AEI FCLS/FCLA designation requirements are separate things and should not be substituted for the CIFI reference curriculum.
Format, Length, and Rules: What Remains Unverified
Here is the status of the exam-day details candidates ask about most:
| Detail | Status |
|---|---|
| Numerical passing score | Unverified |
| Number of questions | Unverified; a historical official account describes 50 multiple-choice questions, but this is not a current specification |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Unverified |
| Time limit | Unverified |
| Open-book, calculator, or adaptive rules | Unverified |
| Weighted domain blueprint | Not verified; official weights unknown |
| Highest-weighted domain | Unknown |
| Delivery | IASIU proctor arrangements include an online camera-and-microphone route; no external national test vendor verified |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Because the historical 50-question multiple-choice description exists, it is reasonable to expect multiple-choice, knowledge-and-application style items, but you should confirm the current format directly with IASIU when you apply. Do not build a pacing plan around an assumed question count.
Preparing for an Unpublished Cut Score, Domain by Domain
When you cannot optimize for a known threshold, the rational strategy is to leave no domain weak, especially because no domain is verified as the heaviest. Below is how to think about each of the seven areas, and how to sequence them. For a fuller plan, see our CIFI study guide.
Domains 1 and 2: Recognizing Fraud and Special Investigation (Courses 510-511)
These are the investigator's daily craft. Expect scenario thinking: given a claim fact pattern, what indicators raise fraud potential, and what is the sound next step?
- Know the distinction among types of fraud and how the insurance contract and fraud statutes frame them.
- Understand good practices in handling a special investigation, including techniques, the limits of proactive investigation, and reporting.
- Experienced SIU staff should still review reporting obligations and the boundaries of proactive work.
Domain 3: Proving Fraud (Course 512)
This is where investigators with strong field experience but thin legal grounding often struggle.
- Hearsay: what it is and how it affects the evidence you gather.
- Discovery and privilege: what can be obtained, and what is protected.
- Constitutional and criminal law issues that bear on how investigations are conducted.
Domains 4 and 5: The Policy, Bad Faith, and Civil Liability (Courses 513-514)
These two domains form a pair: what the policy requires, and what happens when an insurer mishandles a suspicious claim.
- The policy as a contract, the insurer's duties, policy conditions, and remedies.
- The cause of action for bad faith, exposure, other theories of liability, and good faith and other defenses.
- The core tension: investigating aggressively without crossing into improper claims handling.
Domain 6: Advanced Legal Issues in Fraud Investigation and Defense (Course 515)
Information handling is the theme.
- Managing information to avoid defamation.
- Using information appropriately once you have it.
- What makes a special investigation reasonable and effective.
Domain 7: Auto Insurance Fraud (Course 516)
The most line-of-business-specific domain, and the easiest to underestimate if your SIU background is in property or workers' compensation.
- Auto theft and auto fires.
- Auto physical damage fraud.
- Auto accidents and bodily injuries.
A Sequencing Idea Tied to the Curriculum
Since no weights are published, sequence by dependency rather than by assumed importance. One workable order: start with the contract and fraud-law foundations in Domain 1, move to investigation practice in Domain 2, then layer the legal-proof material in Domains 3 and 6, pair Domains 4 and 5 together because bad faith only makes sense once you understand policy duties, and finish with Domain 7 as a self-contained line-of-business review. Leave a final pass for the areas your own experience covers least. A candidate from a legal or claims-adjuster background should front-load Domain 2 and Domain 7; a candidate from field investigation should front-load Domains 3, 5, and 6.
Fees, Registration Mechanics, and Renewal
The cost side is better documented than the scoring side. Current application fees are USD $250 for IASIU members and USD $450 for nonmembers. These supersede the older $200/$400 values that appear in the 2023 application, so if you are working from an older PDF or a forum post quoting $200/$400, those figures are historical. Our CIFI certification cost breakdown covers the full picture.
| Item | Member | Nonmember |
|---|---|---|
| Current application fee | USD $250 | USD $450 |
| Historical application fee (superseded) | USD $200 | USD $400 |
| Three-year renewal fee | USD $100 | USD $200 |
Once certified, the credential runs on a three-year renewal cycle requiring 60 continuing education units (CEUs), with at least ten earned each year and at least one ethics credit. Passing the exam is therefore the start of an ongoing obligation, not a one-time event. If you are weighing the whole commitment, our ROI analysis and salary guide address the career side, and the CIFI jobs overview looks at where the credential is put to work. For scheduling questions, check the CIFI exam dates guide.
Key Takeaway
Budget for the application fee at the correct current rate, confirm exam-day format and any proctoring setup directly with IASIU when you apply, and plan your CEU pipeline early so renewal never becomes a scramble.
How to Verify Anything You Read About This Exam
Given how much confusion surrounds the CIFI acronym, a short verification routine will protect you:
- Confirm the credential. Does the page mention IASIU, special investigation units, and claims fraud? If it mentions a different industry entirely, close the tab.
- Check the date. Fee figures change; the $200/$400 application fees are historical, not current.
- Distrust precise numbers without a source. A confident "you need 75%" with no citation to IASIU is not evidence.
- Go to the primary sources. The IASIU CIFI page and the AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense program overview are the reference points reviewed for this article. Both pages blocked automated retrieval at the time of review (an HTTP 403 response), so we worked from indexed text of their current production URLs; that does not establish an exam revision date. Open them in your own browser, and email IASIU for anything still unclear.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, our explainers on what CIFI certification is and what CIFI stands for are good starting points, and the CIFI cheat sheet condenses the verified facts onto one page.
Frequently Asked Questions
No verified numerical passing score is publicly established for the Certified Insurance Fraud Investigator exam. IASIU's public materials do not give a confirmed cut score, so avoid any source that states one without citing IASIU directly.
The current item count is unverified. A historical official account describes 50 multiple-choice questions, but that is not a verified current specification, and the scored/unscored split and time limit are also unconfirmed. Ask IASIU for current details when you apply.
Unknown. No official weighted blueprint has been verified, and no highest-weighted topic is established. The seven AEI courses (510-516) are unweighted reference-curriculum categories, so prepare across all of them.
AEI course completion is not asserted to be mandatory. IASIU describes the CIFI as a test of knowledge and experience rather than a course of study, though it does name the AEI Law of Claims Fraud Investigation and Defense materials among those used to develop the examination.
The current application fee is USD $250 for IASIU members and USD $450 for nonmembers, replacing older $200/$400 figures. Renewal is every three years with 60 CEUs (at least ten annually plus an ethics credit) and a fee of USD $100 for members or USD $200 for nonmembers.